Home 5 Ag Stories Vilsack confirmed as 32nd Secretary of Agriculture

Vilsack confirmed as 32nd Secretary of Agriculture

Photo Courtesy of USDEC

Today the United States Senate confirmed former Iowa Governor Tom Vilsack as the 32nd United States Agriculture Secretary. Vilsack is returning to the post he vacated four years ago after serving eight years as the 30th Secretary of Agriculture under President Barrack Obama. Vilsack is succeeding Former Ag Secretary Sonny Perdue of Georgia, who served the last four years under President Trump.

Senate Agriculture Committee Chairwoman Debbie Stabenow (D-Michigan) stood and spoke in support of Vilsack for Secretary. She talked about the problems that USDA will be able to help during this pandemic.

Stabenow says that she is more than confidant that Vilsack will be able to rise to the occasion.

Senate Ag Committee Ranking Member John Bozeman (R-Arkansas) also rose and showed his support. He spoke to the bipartisan nature of the committee’s work to get the nomination through.

Bozeman echoed that Vilsack will put the needs of American farmers first. He added that he looks forward to working with the USDA under Vilsack’s leadership once again.

Bozeman stressed the need for the Secretary to not put more impediments in the way of American Farmers and Ranchers.

The Senate voted to confirm Vilsack as Ag secretary by a vote of 92-7. Notable opponents were Senators Rand Paul (R-KY), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Ted Cruz (R-TX), and Bernie Sanders (D-VT). Both Iowa Republican Senators, Grassley and Ernst, voted in support of Vilsack.