Home 5 Ag Stories State Ag Officials Call to Action: Renewed Commitment to State-Federal Partnerships

State Ag Officials Call to Action: Renewed Commitment to State-Federal Partnerships

The National Association of State Departments of Agriculture (NASDA) opened its 2016 Annual Meeting today by calling for a renewed commitment to a robust role for states in federal policymaking in the next administration and Congress. The state commissioners, secretaries, and directors of agriculture are gathered in Lincoln, Nebraska, September 21-24, to celebrate NASDA’s 100th anniversary under the leadership of Nebraska Director of Agriculture Greg Ibach.

The NASDA Board of Directors adopted the organization’s “Call to Action to 2020: Advancing Agriculture through Enhanced Partnerships” to underscore the importance of cooperative federalism and a true state-federal partnership.

“As we look ahead to a new president, a new administration, a new Congress, and debate on a new Farm Bill, effective partnerships between states and federal government are needed now more than ever. States have a unique perspective that is closer to producers and can offer solutions that help ensure agriculture’s economic stability while guaranteeing safe and accessible food.

In addition, NASDA Members continued their discussions on the upcoming 2018 Farm Bill, focusing on the importance of a viable safety net for farmers and ranchers, as well as the challenges and opportunities the legislation can address.

“There are real challenges in the farm economy, but also important opportunities at home and abroad for U.S. producers,” said Ibach. “As both co-regulators of and promoters of agriculture in our states, we look forward to working with Congress to craft a Farm Bill that works for producers across the country and helps agriculture advance.”

The opening plenary session featured challenges to NASDA Members on key issues from the influential voices of American Farm Bureau President Zippy Duvall, University of Nebraska-Lincoln Chancellor Ronnie Green, Hershey Transparency Lead Deb Arcoleo, and Dr. John Goldberg, formerly senior staff for the House Agriculture Committee.