Home 5 Ag Stories Service to Agriculture Award

Service to Agriculture Award

by Whitney Flach

The Dean of agriculture and life sciences at Iowa State University, Wendy Wintersteen, is the 2016 recipient of the Carl F. Hertz Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award from the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers. The award was presented this week at their 87th annual meeting.

The Carl F. Hertz Distinguished Service In Agriculture Award is presented to a person or group in appreciation for service to agriculture, other than directly in the farm management and rural appraisal professions.

Wintersteen, the endowed dean of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and the director of the Agriculture Experiment Station, was honored for her “tireless efforts and commitment to agriculture and her leadership and contributions to Iowa, national and international agriculture.”