Home 5 Ag Stories Iowan installed as American Soybean Association president

Iowan installed as American Soybean Association president

Photo by Ben Nuelle

A Keota, Iowa man assumes presidency of the American Soybean Association. John Heisdorffer will serve as the 2018 president. This follows a vote of the ASA board this morning in St. Louis.

“There is a so much facing the soybean industry today, and I am very aware of the responsibility that this position carries with it. For the first time in history, American farmers harvested more acres of soybeans than any other crop. We are a leading voice in the ongoing dialogue on food and farming, and as a leader, it’s our duty to stay engaged.”

He replaces Illinois’ Ron Moore as president, and Moore will move to the role of ASA Chairman. Former Chairman Richard Wilkins of Delaware rotates off the nine-member ASA Governing Committee. Heisdorffer raises soybeans, corn and hogs with his wife, Deanna and son Chris.