Home 5 Ag Stories Five Secretaries of Agriculture will headline Iowa Hunger Summit

Five Secretaries of Agriculture will headline Iowa Hunger Summit

This year’s Iowa Hunger Summit will feature a panel discussion with the five most recent U.S. Secretaries of Agriculture.

Secretary Tom Vilsack will host the conversation with Secretaries’ Dan Glickman, Ann Veneman, Mike Johanns and Ed Schafer participating in the session. It will focus on food insecurity.

“I am absolutely delighted that my colleagues, the four former secretaries of agriculture, have agreed to join me in Des Moines for what I believe will be an insightful conversation on the food insecurity issues facing our country. Among those are: access to nutritious and safe food, the future of SNAP and the lack of full scale grocery stores throughout our nation’s food deserts,” said Secretary Vilsack.

The event is unique in bringing together Secretaries across many administrations and political parties.

“We are so very pleased to have Secretary Tom Vilsack as a new member of the World Food Prize Council of Advisors,” said Ambassador Kenneth Quinn, President of the World Food Prize. “We are most grateful for his role in that capacity in facilitating this panel of former Secretaries of Agriculture, which will be one of the more memorable events we have ever had at the World Food Prize”.​

The panel discussion will take place from 9:15 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. on Monday, October 16 at the Downtown Des Moines Marriott as part of the day long Hunger Summit.