Home Ohio Country Journal A two-zone turkey season

A two-zone turkey season

After hearing concerns expressed by those hunting in Ohio’s snowbelt, the Ohio Division of Wildlife (ODOW) surveyed hunters in the northeastern part of the state and conducted a two-year study to determine if turkeys were nesting later there than in other regions of the state.

Biologists found that hens in snowbelt counties nested nearly two weeks later than hens in southeastern counties, which supported the creation of a two-zone spring turkey season. As a result, and to the agency’s credit, for this spring’s turkey hunting season — and likely beyond —the state has been divided into two zones: a south zone, which opens to hunters on Monday, April 24, and a northeast zone, which opens to hunters on Monday, May 1. Hunters can view the 2017 spring turkey season zone map at wildohio.gov. Hat’s off to the ODOW for listening to hunters’ concerns and acting on same.