Home 5 Ag Stories 2018 World Food Prize laureates announced

2018 World Food Prize laureates announced

Photo Courtesy of The World Food Prize

The 2018 World Food Prize laureates were announced at the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) headquarters in Washington, D.C. today. The award considered to be the “Nobel Prize of food and agriculture”, goes to two doctors from the United Kingdom.

Drs. Lawrence Haddad and David Nabarro were announced today as the 2018 World Food Prize Laureates during a ceremony at the U.S. Department of Agriculture. They are being recognized for their work in bettering nutrition for mothers and children. Their work has led to the reduction of the number of stunted children in the world by 10 million in five years.

Audio: World of Agriculture 

Bill Gates, co-founder of the Bill and Melinda Gates foundation said, “Drs. Haddad and Nabarro have dedicated their careers to reducing hunger and malnutrition. Their work has deepened our understanding of nutrition’s impact not only on individual health, but on human capital and economic growth – compelling leaders in countries across the world to invest in evidence-based solutions.”

USDA Undersecretary and former Iowa Agriculture Secretary, Bill Northey said that feeding the world’s population is one of the most challenging issues we face.

Ted McKinney, who currently serves as Under Secretary of Agriculture for Trade and Foreign Agricultural Affairs, challenged those in attendance to carry on the work of Dr. Norman Borlaug.

Drs. Haddad and Nabarro will receive the World Food Prize at a ceremony in the Iowa State Capitol building in Des Moines, Iowa, October 18th. The event is part of the Borlaug Dialogue International Symposium, a three-day international event to discuss issues in global food security.